The Government of Rwanda, the African Union (AU), and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) signed on October 14 the First Addendum and extension to the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) dated 10 September 2019 between Rwanda, the African Union, and the UNHCR establishing an Emergency Transit Mechanism (ETM) from Libya to Rwanda.

According to the AU, this addendum takes effect immediately and will ensure that the established ETM in Gashora, Rwanda continues until 31 December 2023, and increases its capacity from the initial 500 to 700 persons.

Under this agreement, the Government of Rwanda will continue to receive and provide protection to refugees and asylum-seekers, as well as others identified as particularly vulnerable and at-risk, who are currently being held in detention centres in Libya.