The High Council of State (HCS) called on Wednesday for the (6+6) committee, consisting of six HCS members and six MPs, to meet next week.

The HCS head, Khaled Al-Mishri, met on Wednesday with the six members of the committee affiliated with the HCS and suggested they meet with their counterparts in the Parliament (HoR) in Tripoli to continue the debate on the electoral laws.

Earlier, the HCS announced the names of its representatives in the committee, which was formed jointly with the House of Representatives to reach a consensus on the electoral rules.

The HCS members include Ahmed Juma Al-Awjali, Hamad Muhammad Brikao, Omar Muhammad Abulifa, Fathallah Muhammed Hussain, Fawzi Rajab Al-Oqab, and Mama Suleiman Bilal.

The decision provides that the committee briefs the presidency's office on developments following each meeting and to discusses with the latter contentious issues.

Earlier this month, the House of Representatives elected its representatives to the 6+6 joint committee, which includes Noureddine Khaled, Jalal Al-Shuwaidi, Saleh Qelma, Abu Salah Shalabi, Miloud Al-Aswad, and Ezzedine Qwereb.