The African Union Committee of Ten on Security Council Reform - which includes Libya - called for the correction of what it called the historical injustice that had befallen Africa due to its exclusion from permanent membership in the Security Council.

This came at the 11th meeting of foreign ministers, where they called on these countries to consider reforming the Security Council, listen to African voices, and submit recommendations to plead in favor of this request, taking into account the unified African position as stipulated in the Sirte Declaration.

The work plan of the Committee of Ten, according to Algerian Foreign Minister, is based on five points, the most important of which are strengthening the internal front and intensifying its participation in government negotiations with a greater focus on the specificity of the African position, in addition to enhancing communication and interaction with various actors from countries, groups and blocs to expand the international support base in favor of a joint African position.

The Committee of Ten was established in 2005 by the African Union with the aim of strengthening and coordinating the unified position of the African continent in the ongoing governmental negotiations within the framework of the United Nations regarding reform of the Security Council and raising the level of African representation in it. The committee includes 10 African countries: Algeria, the Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Libya, Namibia, Uganda, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Zambia.