FIFA has announced that 22 national teams from the Arab region have signed up to participate in the FIFA Arab Cup, including Libya.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino expressed hope that the tournament, which will be staged from 1 to 18 December next year would unite the people across the region.

"We are delighted that all 22 teams from across the Arab world have agreed to take part in the FIFA Arab Cup 2021," Infantino said during a visit to Lusail Stadium that will host the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 Final.

Football fans from across the Middle East and Arab world will enjoy a total of 32 matches, which will be held over 18 days, in the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 stadiums.

Nations from the Confederation of African Football to compete in the tournament are Libya, Sudan, Algeria, Morocco, Somalia, Tunisia, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, and Mauritania.

Qatar, Bahrain, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Yemen, and the United Arab Emirates will be representing the Confederation of Asian Football.

Qatar FA President, Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Bin Ahmed Al Thani expressed his country's readiness to host the teams and their fans, emphasizing that they will be treated to the same world-class experience that awaits fans from around the world when they flock to Qatar for the FIFA World Cup in 2022.

It may be important to note that the last tournament of the Arab Cup was held in 2012. The final match brought together Morocco and Libya and ended with a Moroccan victory.