Diplomatic sources reported that the President of Congo, Denis Sassou Nguesso, Chairman of the African Union High-level Committee on Libya, informed the Organization’s Peace and Security Council on Monday of the committee’s decision to include Morocco into the African Union Contact Group on Libya.

This news precedes the convening of the committee meeting at the level of major heads of state and government next week.

The African Union Contact Group on Libya was originally established in February 2020 and includes the leaders of Egypt, Chad, Congo, South Africa and Algeria, along with the Chairperson of the African Union Commission.